Coding to the Highest Level of Specificity

    Must Read

    ADHD Medications – Are They Killing You?

    What type of ADHD Medications are killing you? Have I caught your attention? I hope...

    Clear the Air, Please!

    A new public health hazard is going on in malls, live vendor shows, markets, work places, and in a...

    The Truth About ADD-ADHD and Hyperbaric Oxygenation Treatment

    ADD/ADHD or Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder is a common childhood medical condition. Your child may have it; your child...

    10 Remedies For Acid Reflux

    Heartburn or acid indigestion is another name that refers to acid reflux. The discomfort and pain associated with acid...

    How to Avoid Side Effects of Air Conditioners

    Air conditioners are indeed our saviour in the months where there is absolutely no respite from the heat. Now,...

    Therapeutic Horseback Riding – An Overview

    Therapeutic Horseback Riding (THR) is a therapeutic program that provides equine assisted activities for individuals with disabilities...

    Differences Between Nursing Homes, Assisted Living & Continuing Care Retirement Communities

    Benjamin Franklin said it best - “nothing in life is certain except death and taxes” but with daily advancements...

    Childhood Dejection – Another Characteristic of Child Psychology

    Psychology is all about dealing with the human intellect and teenager psychology especially deals with the manner children consider....
    - Advertisement -

    Insurance carriers often deny claims for not being coded to the highest level of specificity. As many billers are not coders they often don’t understand what has gone wrong or how to fix it.

    If a service line is denied for this reason they are saying that the diagnosis code needs to be more specific. Some diagnosis codes are only three or four digits but many are five digits. The diagnosis must be coded to the absolute highest level for that code, meaning the most number of digits for the code being used.

    For example, the diagnosis for hypertension begins with 401. However if you submit a cliam with the diagnosis 401 it will be denied. The code 401 requires a 4th digit. 401.0 is malignant essential hypertension. 401.1 is benign essential hypertension. 401.9 is unspecified essential hypertension. So to bill a claim with a diagnosis of hypertension it must be either 401.0, 401.1, or 401.9.

    Another example of a diagnosis needing to be billed to a higher level of specificity would be diabetes. 250.0 indicates diabetes however you neeed a 5th digit to specify what type of diabetes. 250.00 is diabetes mellitus type two, 250.01 is diabetes mellitus type one (juvenile type), and 250.02 is diabetes mellitus type one uncontrolled and so on.

    As you can see in the above example just putting 250.0 does not indicate specifically what the problem is. Without the fifth digit the claim is lacking enough information to be processed and therefore will be denied.

    If you are unsure if the diagnosis is coded to the highest level of specificity you can look it up in an ICD9 code book or on the web. There are several websites with current ICD9 codes available. They will indicate if the code is coded to the highest level.

    Some practice management systems have scrubbers that will catch under coded diagnosis and give you a warning. Sometimes the biller may recognize a truncated diagnosis (or a diagnosis requiring an additional digit.)

    In either case the biller should go back to the coder or provider and ask them to be more specific with the diagnosis code so the claim can be resubmitted.

    Copyright 2009 – Michele Redmond

    Source by Michele Redmond


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Latest Articles

    Foods to Avoid for Acid Reflux – A Natural Cure for GERD Starting With Your Diet

    As a natural health expert, I must get 10 e-mails a day asking, "What are foods to avoid for...

    It’s Not All Allergies, It’s Seasonal Change Too!

    Spring is here! Your eyes are itchy, your nose is runny, you feel irritable - must be allergies right? Not necessarily! In most cases...

    Dementia In A Nutshell

    Dementia is a deterioration of mental condition. Dementia usually occurs in later life, though rarer cases of presenile dementia are diagnosed....

    Analysis of Louis Althusser's Philosophy

    Louis Althusser is a postmodern, post-structural philosopher known for his contribution of reinterpreting Marxism and making it a modern reading. His...